Blue Flag South Africa

44 beaches across the provinces Western Cape, KZN and the Eastern Cape have been awarded with the Blue Flag status for the 2017/18 season which officially opened on 1 November 2017. An additional 22 beaches across the three provinces will participate on the Pilot Programme. For beaches to receive a Blue Flag status, it means that global standards are being met when it comes to safety, amenities, cleanliness and environmental standards. Sites are required to reapply each year to be considered for the Blue Flag award and applications are reviewed by a national and international jury. More about Blue Flag South Africa can be read here.

Yet, bear in mind that the Blue Flag season may vary from beach to beach. Check the map of South Africa on the site of Blue Flag. Also, when choosing a coastal destination, bear in mind that at te Wild Coast there are no Blue Flag beaches.